Direktlänk till inlägg 27 oktober 2006

Helande poesi

Av Johan - 27 oktober 2006 01:00

Mark Liberman på Language Log, som är en blogg med dagliga inlägg av flera stora lingvister (de flesta i USA), skriver idag om en väldigt trevlig och hjärtvärmande nyhet.Mycket blir på engelska idag, men han beskrev det så bra själv så jag ska inte försöka mig på att översätta...Scott Adams som skriver Dilbert har länge lidit av sjukdomen Spasmodisk dysfoni. Svensk Dystoniförening skriver:Spasmodisk dysfoni påverkar de inre och/eller yttre strupmusklerna och påverkar därmed talet, som kan bli spänt, hest eller viskande.Adams skriver så här om sina symptom:The weirdest part of this phenomenon is that speech is processed in different parts of the brain depending on the context. So people with this problem can often sing but they can’t talk. In my case I could do my normal professional speaking to large crowds but I could barely whisper and grunt off stage. And most people with this condition report they have the most trouble talking on the telephone or when there is background noise. I can speak normally alone, but not around others. That makes it sound like a social anxiety problem, but it’s really just a different context, because I could easily sing to those same people.Han fortsätter:To state the obvious, much of life’s pleasure is diminished when you can’t speak. It has been tough.But have I mentioned I’m an optimist?Just because no one has ever gotten better from Spasmodic Dysphonia before doesn’t mean I can’t be the first. So every day for months and months I tried new tricks to regain my voice. I visualized speaking correctly and repeatedly told myself I could (affirmations). I used self hypnosis. I used voice therapy exercises. I spoke in higher pitches, or changing pitches. I observed when my voice worked best and when it was worst and looked for patterns. I tried speaking in foreign accents. I tried “singing” some words that were especially hard.Och till sist:The day before yesterday, while helping on a homework assignment, I noticed I could speak perfectly in rhyme. Rhyme was a context I hadn’t considered. A poem isn’t singing and it isn’t regular talking. But for some reason the context is just different enough from normal speech that my brain handled it fine.Jack be nimble, Jack be quick.Jack jumped over the candlestick.I repeated it dozens of times, partly because I could. It was effortless, even though it was similar to regular speech. I enjoyed repeating it, hearing the sound of my own voice working almost flawlessly. I longed for that sound, and the memory of normal speech. Perhaps the rhyme took me back to my own childhood too. Or maybe it’s just plain catchy. I enjoyed repeating it more than I should have. Then something happened.My brain remapped.My speech returned. Not 100%, but close, like a car starting up on a cold winter night. And so I talked that night. A lot. And all the next day. A few times I felt my voice slipping away, so I repeated the nursery rhyme and tuned it back in. By the following night my voice was almost completely normal.[...] I still don’t know if this is permanent. But I do know that for one day I got to speak normally. And this is one of the happiest days of my life.Är det inte fint? Curing the incurable by the power of poetry, som Liberman på Language Log skriver.

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av Johan - 30 april 2007 23:16

Nu är mitt egna hemsidesprojekt äntligen layoutat och klart att fyllas.   Från och med nu hittar ni bloggen på [url=www.johanronstrom.se]www.johanronstrom.se[/url].   Ses där! ...

Av Johan - 26 april 2007 20:39

[url=http://aftonbladet.se/vss/rss/story/0,2789,1055262,00.html]Det här [/url]verkar ju vara ett steg i rätt riktning!   Roliga siffror nedanför också. Får mig att tänka på [url=http://www.aftonbladet.se/vss/nyheter/story/0,2789,757539,00.html]den hä...

Av Johan - 26 april 2007 20:19

En artikel på [url=http://tv4.se/nyheter/544863.html]TV4.se[/url] skriver att en undersökning i Norge visar att varannan norsk man anser att kvinnor som flirtar får skylla sig själva om de våldtas.   Av de tillfrågade svarar 48 procent att kvinnan är...

Av Johan - 23 april 2007 01:11

En nyhet i PCWorld (via Slashdot) beskriver en teknisk lucka i GPS-navigationssystem för bilar.   Två säkerhetsexperter har upptäckt att navigationssystemen tar emot trafikvarningar och väderupplysningar via den data-kanal som alla FM-radiostationer ...

Av Johan - 16 april 2007 19:34

Läste en mycket intressant artikel om en undersökning om könsroller och förväntningar i DN, via Johanna Nylander. Men jag håller med om, som Johanna skrev, att det är lite konstigt att artikeln inte tar upp den manliga könsrollen, och de förväntninga...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards